Blog Tour: Unconvicted by Ollly Jarvis*

We are officially into February, the month where the nights start to get lighter and the days a little longer.  But we are still in that time of year where we love nothing more than curling up on the sofa with a good book.  We have had some exciting book post this month and continue to work with a number of publishers and authors, reviewing advanced copies of books.

Today we are hosting the blog tour for “Unconvicted” by Olly Jarvis, a legal thriller with a difference.


by Olly Jarvis

In a razor-sharp legal thriller, Jack Kowalski must win two challenging trials to save his reputation and his career
Junior barrister Jack Kowalski is crushed. His client Timothy Smart appears to have committed a monstrous crime while on bail – a bail application Jack fought hard to win.
When a high-profile Polish footballer is charged with rape and demands a fellow countryman represent him, Jack must overcome his guilt and get back to work. Before long he takes on a second case, a GBH for instructing solicitor Lara Panassai, who Jack remains desperate to impress. But neither case is what it seems, and Jack will face an extraordinary uphill battle to see that justice is done…
The second Jack Kowalski novel, Unconvicted is a gripping courtroom drama written with the expert insight of a practicing criminal barrister, perfect for fans of William L. Myers, Deborah Hawkins, and Scott Turow.

Our Review

I studied and enjoyed, A-level law and business law as part of my University degree. I had the choice between two professions, Law or Accountancy. I decided to follow my heart and mind, both were telling me to chose the Accountancy route.  But, I always wondered what life would be like as a Barrister.  Unconvicted written by Olly Jarvis, who himself is a criminal barrister, has given me that insight  through an enjoyable, entertaining and easy reading page turner of a novel.  

This is the first legal thriller of this nature I have read and it is not a disappointment, it is a courtroom drama and gives an insight into life as a barrister.  Whilst this is the second book in the series, it can be read standalone.  However, as I was reading, I could not but help feel like I was missing some history between a few of the characters that perhaps the first in the series would answer….. will get back to you on this one when I have read it.

We were delighted to be given an advanced copy of Unconvicted and could not wait to start reading it.  The main character is Jack Kowalski, who is a criminal defense barrister in Manchester.  He has strong family values, a sensitive nature and high moral values.  Through the story we gain an insight in to his personal life, his families Polish traditions and also his romantic feelings towards Lara Panissi (solicitor).

Jack is successful in his bail application for Timothy Smart, but that case has only just begun.  Whilst on bail, Timothy is suspected of committing a murderous crime.  In addition, a Polish footballer (Gustaw Nowark) whose case is false allegation of rape.  Has a preference for a defense Barrister of Polish descent to defend him, and he request Jack.  A third case, Gary Dixon who has a record of petty crime is alleged to have attacked an elderly man during a burglary.  The latter cases Jack accepts to impress Lara.

With the three cases running one after the other, Jacks persistence to seek the facts and his analytical mind always pays off.  It’s enjoyable reading to find Jack obtaining relevant case and character information, and putting things together to defend the cases.  It would be very easy with three cases running for the story to become confusing.  Olly Jarvis has a clever and articulate way of writing that ensures the readers mind is captured, whilst creating mystery without causing confusion.  Highly recommended.

There are not many books written in a series that I would opt to read, but there is always the exception and this is mine.  The characters are engaging, the book written in short chapters which makes for an enjoyable read. Look forward to reading the next one.

Thank you to Ellie at Canelo, and Olly Jarvis for the advanced copy and invite to join the blog tour.

Blog Tour

Publication Availability

Unconvicted was published by Canelo on 29th January, you can purchase a copy using the following links:

Serendipity Loves x
* We received an advanced copy of Unconvicted from Canelo, in return for an open and honest review. #unconvicted

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close