Blog Tour ~ Tell No Lies by Lisa Hartley

Hello Saturday, the second weekend in March. This month has thrown at us a few challenges, they say things come in threes. We are at number eight on the list. We are looking forward to spring and start to gardening season.
Last weekends snow fall, saw us sat reading by an open coal fire. When I purchased my home many years ago, I was incredibly lucky to inherit a coal shed full of Welsh mined coal. And nothing beats the warmth, and red glow that it radiates into the sitting room. Perfect for setting for reading.
We have also been working on a new look to our blog, our current blog template has a few bugs we haven’t managed to iron out. So have opted for a change. After all, they say a change is as good as a rest. This will be unveiled next week.
Today sees us hosting the Blog Tour for “Tell no Lies” written by Lisa Hartley and published by Canelo. A very big thank you to Ellie at Canelo and for both the advanced copy, and the invite to join the book tour.

Overview

Now they’re coming after Caelan’s team…

A tortured body is found in a basement. drug dealing and people smuggling is on the rise. Then police start going missing.

There seems to be no connection between the crimes, but Detective Carla. small senses something isn’t right.

Plunged into a new investigation lives are on the line. Andin the web of gangs, brothels and nerve-shattering undercover work, Carla. Must get to the truth – or be killed trying.

And then there is Nicky…..

Utterly gripping, written with searing tension and remarkable dexterity, Tell No Lies is a blistering crime novel for fans of Angela Marsons, Rebecca Bradley and Faith Martin.

Book Review

Tell No Lies is a police procedural crime thriller. It’s the second book in the Detective Caelan Small series and her police with drug and people trafficking. This story is based on drug trafficking, an increasing number of bodies being found and people disappearing, Caelan is pulled in from her leave to work on the case.
The characters are incredibly strong throughout the book, Caelan in particular who has a disregard to follow procedures. Which in itself, adds to the tension of the story and how it unravels. Also she likes to say “No” to superiors and this really builds the tension, adds to the strength of her character and her interaction with her colleagues.
Whilst this is the second book in the series, and it can be read alone, I felt I was missing part of the characters that would have been introduced in the first book. And thus, I’d recommend reading the first book to give the full impact intended.
It took me about 35% of the way through the book to get the just of the story and the characters. But once I had, I enjoyed reading the story and how it unravelled, learning of Caelan, her team and interactions with them. And the twists and ending are completely unpredictable.
This is suited to those who like detective and police procedural style books. It fuels an enjoyable read.
Thank you Lisa Hartley for an enjoyable read, and thank you to Ellie at Canelo for our advanced copy.

About The Author


Lisa Hartley lives with her partner, son, two dogs and several cats. She graduated with a BA (Hons) in English Studies, then had a variety of jobs but kept writing in her spare time. She is currently working on the next DS Catherine Bishop novel, as well as a new series with Canelo.

Blog Tour 

Tell No Lies was published on 19th February and is available on Amazon.  Details of the blog tour are as follows.
We have an exciting week ahead, which includes the launch of our new look blog and an amazing collaboration with an artist based in Cornwall.
Serendipity Loves x
* We received an advanced copy of Tell No Lies from Canelo, in return for an open and honest review.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s